unklion.blogg.se

Bad gag reflex
Bad gag reflex













Don’t tell me about the jar of something that is growing mold in the fridge or the aroma of pasta sauce. No, I gag most often to the possibility of smelling them. I’m not reacting to any actual stimuli or even a remembered stimuli stored in the core of my primal brain. Just thinking about bad smells makes the bile rise up the back of my throat. When my sister attempted to apologise, it led to the absolute worst gag inducer of them all: Thinking About Bad Smells!!!! I managed to stifle the gags while dealing with the little man, but the moment I sat down right way round, I was certain I’d throw up all over myself and the car. Some of said gas escaped in the car as I was turned around from the front seat, leaning into the back seat, helping strap Kieran into his booster. She’ll probably be mortified that I mentioned it, but there you have it. When family joined us for dinner and a hockey game one night, my SIL had a little post meal gas. I feel particularly bad about this one as gas is not something any of us can control. I hold my breath passing bathrooms and hang my head out the car window when gas is passed. If I have to smell the side effect of anyone’s bodily function, it’s all over for me. I must vainly attempt to squeeze my eyes shut and hum or something – anything to forget Sean dumping old soup down the sink or me rinsing a kid’s messy undies in the sink. If, however, when I am bent over spitting into that white bowl and I catch a glimpse, then it’s retch city. I try to actually not look into the sink at all, preferring to avoid this gag by reading a magazine article that I clip to the bathroom mirror. Sometimes, looking into the sink drain and helplessly recalling gross things that have run down that drain can bring on the worst gags! However, most often what triggers the gag is trying to gargle, rinse or swish my mouth clean. Putting the toothbrush in my mouth, too far in my mouth, can bring on a gag. I take a few pills every single day, so my first gag of the day (or three, as I take three morning pills) arrives by 9am: the prenatal pill gag and two acidophalus pill gags. Things that triggered my sensitive gag reflex: Taking Pills There wasn’t any morning sickness, but I had the most sensitive gag reflex known to woman. But the second time around things were a little different. I had some food aversions and some very powerful cravings (I ate grilled cheese sandwiches for at least two meals per day for the last two weeks of my pregnancy!). When I was pregnant with my first baby, I didn’t experience morning sickness.

bad gag reflex

Now we need to talk about gagging in pregnancy! Did you have a sensitive gag reflex in pregnancy? There are a number of things our team will do to make sure you experience total comfort and confidence while at Modern Touch Dental. Plainly said, your oral health is too important to ignore because you fear embarrassment or the discomfort caused by a bad gag reflex at the dental office. We can administer nitrous oxide, or, even oral conscious sedation, to control extreme cases of gagging.Disclaimer: We really don’t mind as long as you’re comfortable! While we can’t do this in every case, those that we can do this for will experience less sensation toward the back of their tongue, thereby reducing the urge to gag. While taking impressions, we can position you upright and forward instead of leaning you back.Taking a decongestant before your appointment can make this easier. This technique may seem odd, but it’s effective. We can also give you a stress ball to squeeze repeatedly, which will similarly “distract” you. But, by alternating slight leg lifts while in the chair – back and forth and back and forth -, your mind will be focused on something other than what’s happening in your mouth. We’ll be sure to take your sensitivity into special consideration! Simply being upfront about the potential problem can put you at ease and that will help to relax the reflex. Tell the hygienist and/or dentist before any work begins.Here are a few things that you and our team can do to diminish your gag reflex while at our dental office: But, we are experienced in helping these patients overcome their fears and avoid any discomfort while visiting with us.

bad gag reflex bad gag reflex

Some people with gag reflex sensitivity find even brushing their teeth at home can be difficult. People who suffer from an easily triggered gag reflex often find a visit to the dentist to be fear-inducing, or embarrassing.















Bad gag reflex